From The Vault – “The Zeros”- Don’t push me around LP

The_Zeros_-_DonΒ΄t_Push_Me_Around_-_Front-1024x1024Despite being released for some time, this LP only came across my line of vision recently and boy I’m so glad it did.

For those that don’t know the story of the Zeros, it goes a little like this.  Formed in Southern California in 1976, the band were part of the first wave of West Coast punk.

1977 saw the band play their first official gig at the Orpheum Theater in Los Angeles, on the same bill were the Germs and the Weirdos. The gig was promoted by none of than Peter Case who went to onto legendary acclaim with the Nerves and the Plimsouls.

The Zeros first single ‘Wimp / “Don’t push me around” was released in 1977 on Bomp ! Records, (“Wimp” would go on to be covered by the Likes of The Hoodoo Gurus and the Nomads).

The original line up included Javier Escovedo on guitar and lead vocals, Robert Lopez second guitar & vocals, Hector Penalosa on bass and Baba Chenelle on drums.

The band recorded a couple more killer singles 1978 – “Beat Your Heart Out”/ “Wild Weekend” on Bomp! and in 1980 -“They Say That (everything’s alright)” / “Getting Nowhere Fast” on Test Tube Records.

The band at the time never recorded the debut album that no doubt was bubbling away in side them, one can only guess it could have been up there with any of the great classic punk debut efforts, however we will never know.

The band effectively ran out of gas after the release of their third single. They reformed on and off and have recorded more material, over the years. The LP “Don’t Push Me Around” captures all the energy and excitement of their first incarnation, some have refered to the Zeroes as the Mexican Ramones, this is really just a lazy tag line. Their song’s like the Ramones are short sharp and fill of hooks, however for mine they have more in common with the Nerves and the Lurkers than the East Coast Brothers. You however should make up your own mind and add this essential disc to your collection, the Zeros are Hero’s in the Doctor’s eyes.

LP Track list – Don’t Push Me Around, Wimp, Main Street Brat, Hand-grenade Heart, Beat Your Heart Out, Wild Weekend, Cosmetic Couple, Rico Amour, Beat Your Heart Out, Getting Nowhere Fast, She’s just a Girl on the Block, They Say That (Everything’s Alright).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: